• Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]

Act Immediately

DWI Laws in Collin County

If you were recently arrested for DWI in Texas then it is imperative that you act immediately. Under Texas administrative license suspension (ALS) laws, any driver that does not submit to chemical testing or tests with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or higher, will have their license automatically suspended. This is applicable to both adult and underage drivers, but for minors there is a "zero tolerance" policy. Should an officer pull over a minor on probable cause, deduce that they are under 21 and have serious reason to believe that they have been drinking, the law officer will write up a citation for DUI, provide a suspension notice and confiscate their license.

After an arrest, the driver has 15 days to request an administrative suspension hearing with the Department of Public Safety (DPS). During this hearing, the individual in question will have a chance to defend their case and provide reasonable facts to the hearing officer, who will then determine if the suspension is a valid consequence or not. Having a qualified DWI lawyer at the hearing can greatly increase your chances. They may at least be able to help you receive some sort of occupational license for work purposes.

Consequences of Not Scheduling a Hearing

Without this hearing, the license will be automatically suspended for anywhere from 90 days to one year. If the driver did not submit to chemical testing at the time of their arrest, the minimum suspension time is 180 days and it may be up to two years. For minors, they are looking at 60 to 180 days without their driver's license.

It has been reported that only six percent of all people arrested in Texas will end up being able to keep their license; however, with the help of a Collin County DWI attorney, you do not have to be one of the 94% whose licenses are suspended or revoked. You could be one of the 55%+ whose DWI cases have won, saving you both time and money.

Obtaining an Aggressive DWI Attorney

You have absolutely zero time to waste in your actions to secure a lawyer. The longer you wait the less chance you have securing the case outcome you desire. No one understands DWI law better than me, Attorney Burleson, and I will do everything in my power to make your case successful. In the past, I have been able to claim over 170 "not guilty" trial verdicts and have been named the Collin County Criminal Court Trial Lawyer of the Year from 2009-2011.

You don't have to let a DWI ruin your life. My office handles nothing but these kinds of cases in Collin County, making my firm a place that you can entrust your case with, having full confidence in my capabilities. Do not wait another day to get in touch with a knowledgeable advocate that can work to protect your rights and safeguard your freedom. Call my office at (469)-619-3800 and fill out the free case evaluation today!

  • Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]