• Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]

Chemical Test Refusal in Frisco, TX

Should I Refuse a Chemical Test?

If you are arrested by law enforcement on suspicion of drunk driving, you may be asked by the officer to submit to a testing of your breath or blood to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). You are obligated to comply with a request for chemical testing thanks to Texas' implied consent law and refusing to take a blood or breath test can result in immediate penalties, even if you were not legally over the 0.08% BAC limit.

If you have been arrested for DWI, a skilled Frisco DWI attorney from The Law Office of Troy P. Burleson can fight to beat your charges and protect your freedom. I am an experienced DWI attorney who has earned considerable recognition for my more than 300 "Not Guilty" verdicts from the likes of Super Lawyers® and the National Trial Lawyers Association. I have all the tools needed to successfully challenge your DWI charges and keep you out of prison, so don't wait to give my firm a call.

Know the Costs of a Refusal

If you are arrested, the police officer should inform you that if you refuse a chemical test you could be penalized, and that if your BAC is over the legal limit, your license will be suspended at least 90 days.

Your refusal could be met with the following automatically:

  • 180 day suspension of your driver's license for your first refusal
  • 2 year license suspension for subsequent refusals

The officer cannot force you to take a chemical test unless you are being arrested as part of an accident in which another person was injured or killed, or if you have had two previous DWI convictions, or if a previous DWI conviction involved having a child in your vehicle.

Should I refuse a chemical test?

In most cases, you are not doing yourself any favors by declining to take a blood or breath test once arrested. On top of a 90-day licenses suspension, you will also have to spend three days in jail; six days if you had an open container in your vehicle. Refusing a chemical test is also no guarantee that you won't be found guilty of DWI.

No matter the details of your DWI arrest, you need to speak with a seasoned Frisco DWI lawyer to contest your charges. A conviction could severely damage your reputation and threaten your future opportunities. Trust my firm to work with your best interests in mind.

Schedule your no-cost consultation today—(888) 503-2736!

  • Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]