• Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]

Frisco First-Time DWI Lawyer

Understanding DWI and Its Consequences

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is considered a very reckless, negligent and dangerous behavior by United States law. Lives are put at stake every time someone steps behind the wheel after consuming alcohol, which is why the state has enacted strict laws and penalties to prevent unnecessary accidents, injuries and intoxication manslaughter. The more convictions a person receives, the worse the penalties become, but even a first time DWI can have painful consequences.

In order to be accused of a DWI, your blood alcohol content level (BAC) must be at or above .08 percent. For a law enforcement officer to have arrested you for driving under the influence, you must have been in operation of a motor vehicle in a public place. Police officers must also have a reasonable cause or suspicion that you were intoxicated at the time of arrest and you must have failed a breath or blood test. There can be errors in these types of tests and it is critical that you have an aggressive lawyer that understands the legal process involved with DWI cases.

Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated

In the state of Texas, anyone arrested for drunk driving will have their license suspended by the arresting officer. Should he or she be convicted, their license will continue to be suspended until 90 days after their arrest. Also, a first time DWI will result in a $1,000 fine and two points on the person's driving record, or three points if an accident was involved. Things get even worse if a person is killed because of intoxicated driving, as it is considered vehicular manslaughter. Often referred to as intoxication manslaughter, this type of crime involves the operation of any form of motor vehicle in a public place that causes the death of another due to an accident. Death of another through a driver’s own negligence, can be a second degree felony under the Texas Penal Code §49.08. It could result in a fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment for 2-20 years.

When the driver accused of a DWI is under the age of 21, the legal limit for their blood alcohol content is .02 percent. If they have this amount or more in their system at the time of arrest, they will be charged with an underage DWI. This incurs consequences such as license suspension for 2 months, fines up to $500, community service and mandatory classes for alcohol-awareness. It can result in serious penalties and marks on your record and if the BAC level was above .08 percent, they can also be charged with underage drinking. With serious penalties and the possibility of the loss of driving privileges, it is vital that you speak with a Collin County DWI attorney immediately to fight to keep your license.

Hiring a Lawyer Can be Extremely Beneficial

Need an attorney for a first time DWI in Collin County? The Law Office of Troy P. Burleson focuses on nothing but DWI trial defense. I have handled hundreds of trial cases with a high rate of success and I could provide the same results for you. As the DWI Trial Guy™ and Collin County Trial Lawyer of the Year for 2009-2011, my skill and legal excellence have been proven in more ways than one. With over 170 trial verdicts resulting in “not guilty” for the individuals involved, you can trust that I will defend your case until the end. It is my goal to receive a positive end for each and every client that comes to me for help. If you need the highest possible chance of success in a first time DWI defense case, speak with me today.

  • Recognition

    For Skill & Commitment

    I have been given the honor of inclusion on the list of Texas' Super Lawyers® as a Rising Star

    About Troy P. Burleson [+]
  • Guidance

    From a Knowledgeable Attorney

    The smallest mistake could dramatically and adversely affect the direction of your case.

    Top 10 DWI Mistakes [+]
  • Real Results

    That Changed Lives

    I have consistently won over 70% of the cases I represent. Read about my victories!

    Case Results [+]
  • Contact Us

    Request a Consultation

    You only have 15 days to save your license! Contact us today for a free case evaluation.

    Start Your Defense [+]